304281969_168223609117548_1070450189160461618_n (1)

From ADIA to UIN

The Faculty of Adab and Humanities (FAH) of UIN Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta was established on June 1, 1957 as part of the Academy of Religious Sciences (ADIA) which was also established at the same time. At that time there were only two faculties, namely the Faculty of Adab and Humanities and the Faculty of Tarbiyah Science. This refers to the Decree of the Minister of Religious Affairs Number 1 of 1957. The Faculty of Adab and Humanities became a faculty when ADIA transformed into a State Islamic Institute (IAIN) in 1960 through Decree of the Minister of Religious Affairs No. 35 of 1960 under the name Faculty of Adab. At that time, Prof. Dr. Bustami Abdul Gani became the first Dean. Subsequently, the Faculty of Adab and Humanities, which was only called the Faculty of Adab, changed its name as stated in the current nomenclature after IAIN experienced a change in mandate to become a State Islamic University (UIN) in accordance with Presidential Decree No. 031 dated May 20, 2002.

Study Program History

The Faculty of Adab and Humanities has seven study programs, five study programs at the undergraduate level (S1) and two study programs at the Masters level (S2). five study programs at the undergraduate level, namely Arabic Language and Literature (1960), History and Islamic Civilization (1960), Tarjamah (1999), Library Science (1999), and English Literature (2000). In addition, the Faculty of Adab and Humanities also has a Master Program (S2), namely Master of Arabic Language and Literature (MBSA) and Master of Islamic History and Culture (MSKI) which began to open since 2012 (now has begun to graduate students). In 2017, FAH has achieved recognition as a recognized Faculty at the Southeast Asian level represented by the SPI Study Program at the undergraduate level as an AUN-QA (ASEAN University Network-Quality Assurance) accredited study program.

Dean's Period

The Faculty of Adab and Humanities (FAH) has experienced many leadership changes, namely 14 times, as follows:

  1. 1969-1972
    Prof. Dr. Bustami Arifin Abdul Gani
  2. 1972-1977
    Drs. H. Ahmad Rofi’i
  3. 1977-1983
    Prof. Drs. H. Chatibul Umam
  4. 1983-1991
    Drs. H. Abdul Muthalib Sulaiman
  5. 1991-1994
    Drs. H. Ahmad Rofi’i
  6. 1994-1998
    Prof. Dr. Nabilah Lubis, M.A
  7. 1998-2002
    Prof. Dr. H. Faturrahman Rauf
  1. 2002-2006
    Prof. Dr. Badri Yatim, M.A
  2. 2006-2010
    Dr. H. Abdul Chair, M.A
  3. 2010-2014
    Dr. H. Abdul Wahid Hasyim, M.A
  4. 2014-2015
    Prof. Dr. Oman Faturrahman, M.Hum
  5. 2015-2019
    Prof. Dr. Sukron Kamil, M.Ag
  6. 2019-2023
    Saiful Umam, Ph. D
  7. 2023-2027
    Dr. Ade Abdul Hak, S.Ag., S.S., M.Hum., CIQnR.

We are Today

Now, in 2023, the Faculty of Adab and Humanities is working towards international recognition and reputation by submitting six study programs to the international accreditation agency ACQUIN (The Accreditation, Certification and Quality Assurance Institute). Please note that ACQUAN is a registered association with EQAR (European Quality Assurance Register for Higher Education). EQAR is an international accreditation, certification and quality assurance institution recognized by the Ministry of Education and Culture, Research and Technology (Kemendikbudristek) of the Republic of Indonesia, in accordance with the Decree of the Minister of Education and Culture of the Republic of Indonesia Number 83/P/2020 Dated January 24, 2020.

karmi hari ini